What’s it like being Product Experience Designers?

Hands & Minds | Aurore Firtion and Manuel Zepic

What do you do as a Product Experience Designer?

AURORE: Our job is to design products that offer users the best possible experience with the product and at the same time authentically represent the brands of our clients. The spectrum of product developments ranges from a facelift to completely new, innovative design developments.

Projects often start with an analysis of the market situation, figuring out the potential ways to differentiate from the competition. This may include participating in research conducting interviews to understand consumer expectations and create accurate user journeys. All of this helps us to generate outstanding ideas and concepts, pushing the quality and performance of a client`s product offering.

As we often deal with smart products, we closely collaborate with KISKA’s Interaction Designers who work in the same space. This leads to constructive discussions in which the different expertise and perspectives contribute to creating excellent products and user experiences. 

Describe your day-to-day work.

MANUEL: Aurore and I focus on the actual product design, so we can concentrate fully on the creative process. For now, we stay away from organisational activities as much as possible.

For us, it’s all hands-on industrial design work. Processing the design brief and researching. Then concept development and brainstorming ideas with a lot of hand sketching or digital sketching (depends on the designer; I like hand sketching). And finally creating 3D concept models and renderings up to the refined final design.

We regularly have alignment meetings with our Design Lead, where we check the status of the design development and decide which ideas to further pursue and which directions to refine.

How would you describe the dynamic on your team?

AURORE: We are lucky to have lots of inspiring people in house with different expertise and experience backgrounds who are happy to help you out any time.

MANUEL: We are a team of highly ambitious designers who strive for “excellence”, so there is always a chance to inspire each other, and space for the individual designer to realise their ideas in a project. 

What’s the best thing about your job? And, the most challenging?

MANUEL: The variation is unlike anything else. Every project is a new challenge that you have to deal with in order to be able to design it. You need to adapt your process depending on the task, which may also affect the use of the design tools and the visualisation style.

AURORE: The best and most challenging part of my job are the same, which is being able to realise a product from idea to production, all while exceeding client expectations and maintaining the same level of enthusiasm throughout.


Check out life at KISKA.

Our team of 250 is international and dynamic. Bursting with creativity, we like to live out our passions and seek new experiences. Whether in our studios, or KISKA’s unique surroundings. Find out how we live, work, and play.

Get in touch.

Let’s work together.

Boost your business with brand and design.
You talk. We listen.

Contact one of our offices worldwide.

Salzburg Shanghai California Munich

身为产品体验设计师是什么感觉?

手与心| Aurore Firtion与 Manuel Zepic。

作为产品体验设计师,你做的是什么?

AURORE:我们的工作是设计为用户提供更好的产品体验,同时能真实地表达出我们客户的品牌理念。产品开发的范围从翻新到全新的创新设计开发。

项目通常从分析市场情况开始,找出与竞争对手不同的潜在方法。这可能包括参与研究,进行访谈,以了解消费者的期望,并创建准确的用户旅程。所有这些都有助于我们产生杰出的想法和概念,提升客户产品的质量和性能。

由于我们经常处理智能产品,我们与KISKA在同一领域工作的交互设计师密切合作。促成建设性的讨论,其中不同的专业知识和观点有助于创造优秀的产品和用户体验。

日常工作的描述。

MANUEL: Aurore和我专注于实际的产品设计,所以我们可以完全专注于创意过程。目前,我们尽可能远离组织活动。

对我们来说,这都是实际的工业设计工作。我们需要进行设计概要和研究,然后用大量的手绘草图或数字草图进行概念开发和头脑风暴(取决于设计师;我偏好于手绘)。并最终创建3D概念模型和渲染,直至优化的最终设计。

我们定期与我们的设计负责人举行项目例会,检查设计开发的状态,并决定进一步追求哪些构思以及改进哪些方向。

如何描述团队的动态?

AURORE: 我们幸运的拥有很多不同专业背景,不同行业经验的同事,十分乐意的为客户在任何时间提供服务。

MANUEL: 我们是一支雄心勃勃的设计师团队,他们追求“卓越”,因此始终有机会相互激励,每个设计师都有空间在项目中实现自己的想法。

你的工作最好的地方是什么?最具挑战性的是什么?

MANUEL: 这种变化不同于其他任何变化。每个项目都是一个你必须去面对的新挑战。你需要根据任务的需求灵活调整流程,这也可能会影响设计工具和可视化样式的使用。

AURORE: 在我的工作中我认为最好和最具挑战性的地方是一样的,那就是能够实现产品从构思到生产的全过程,同时能尽可能的超越客户的期望,并对项目始终如一保持着同样的热情。


Check out life at KISKA.

Our team of 250 is international and dynamic. Bursting with creativity, we like to live out our passions and seek new experiences. Whether in our studios, or KISKA’s unique surroundings. Find out how we live, work, and play.

联系我们

与我们合作

用品牌和设计驱动业务
你说, 我们听

联系我们世界各地的任何一家办事处吧

萨尔斯堡 上海 加利福尼亚 慕尼黑